15 weeks pregnant

So we made it to 15 weeks! I still remember the surprise and excitement of that first positive pregnancy test. We were cautiously excited and just focused on getting to that all important first scan. Time seemed to drag but we made it.

Initially I didn’t feel pregnant, none of the usual symptoms at all and then at about 7 weeks the constant nausea and lack of energy hit me. Just going to work was enough for me, my husband thankfully took over most of the house work and cooking. My days consisted of getting up feeling sick, going to work pretending I felt fine, coming home (still feeling sick) and curling up on the sofa for a couple of hours before bed. I felt like I was counting down the hours until I could go back to bed. Weekends weren’t much more exciting. Thankfully around 11 weeks things started to improve. I remember my first day without nausea and instead of enjoying it, I worried if something was wrong! Gradually the good days started getting more frequent, my energy is slowly coming back and I have a lot less nausea. I count myself lucky though that I haven’t actually been sick all that many times (so far). I say so far as strangely, although my nausea is reducing, I only started being sick at 11 weeks. Once a week at first and then this last week I have been sick 3 times. I still consider myself lucky though as I know some people can be sick that many times in one day but I look forward to this stage passing.

The 12 week scan was amazing, so reassuring to know that there is a baby there and it is growing well. The position of the screen didn’t make it easy for me to see as much as my husband could but he assures me it was moving around lots, kicking and waving. After the scan I couldn’t wait to start buying a few bits for the baby so we went shopping and bought a sleeping bag (as it was half price so we couldn’t resist) and a few sleep suits. We have decided not to find out the sex of the baby but I am not a fan of all neutral colours, I love bright colours so I am on the look out for fun unisex clothes and items for the nursery.

This last week I also feel like I am starting to look more pregnant. I seem to have developed a noticeable but small bump and I have had to start wearing maternity trousers/jeans as my normal ones were no longer comfortable. I have to say so far I am not that impressed with maternity clothes and shopping for them. I rarely shop online as I like to try before I buy especially trousers as I find that my size can vary from shop to shop (and sometimes even in the same shop). So last weekend, off I went to Manchester to see what I could find in the shops. I was disappointed by the lack of choice in Debenhams (but the quality seemed good), impressed by the choice in H&M and New look and disappointed that the big Next no longer stocked any maternity wear in store. I ended up getting jeans and smart trousers from New Look and tops from all three stores. I am pleased with the jeans/trousers so far but have not needed to wear the tops yet as they are still too big. I’m at a loss now though as I still need some more tops for work and a few outfits for weekends but there was nothing else in the shops I liked. I would love to hear your suggestions for affordable and stylish maternity wear on the high street or online.

Fingers crossed everything continues to go well and I will be back with another update soon. Who know there may even be some other posts in between.

