Packing my hospital bag

With less than 3 weeks until my due date my hospital bag is packed so I thought I would share what I have packed for us. As a first time mum please let me know if I have missed anything essential!

What I have packed for me014

  • My maternity notes
  • TENS machine
  • Ipod, magazine, pen and paper
  • Some isotonic sports drinks as well as straws for sipping water
  • Energy sweets
  • Raw jelly (my midwife mentioned this was a good high energy snack and I loved raw jelly as a child more so than once it is made up).
  • Jaffa cakes
  • Lip balm
  • Socks
  • Flannel
  • Camera
  • Dark coloured nightie for labour
  • Hand held fan
  • 2 nighties with front opening for after labour
  • Underwear
  • Nursing bras (ok these aren’t even bought yet let alone packed but that’s tomorrows job!)
  • Slippers
  • Dressing gown
  • Change of t-shirt for my husband
  • Maternity pads
  • Breast pads and lansinoh nipple cream
  • Deodorant, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner (all miniatures)
  • Toothbrush and toothpaste
  • Facial wipes
  • Hand held mirror
  • Hair brush
  • Few bits of make up
  • I will add a going home outfit and my mobile phone before we leave for the hospital (yes I have left a small list at the top of the bag, which is left open with list visible, to remind me)

For baby011

  • Newborn size 1 nappies
  • Cotton wool
  • Nappy bags
  • Couple of muslin squares
  • 4 vests and 4 sleepsuits
  • Cotton hat
  • Mittens
  • Little cardigan knitted by my grandma
  • Jacket for coming home in (we’re supposed to be having a spring baby, a friend of my sisters has kindly lent us a couple of newborn snowsuits so if it’s still this cold my husband can bring one of these and a blanket in when he comes to bring us home).
  • Car seat

I also have a bag in the babies room with extras that we may need if we stay in longer such as more maternity pads, nappies etc to help my husband out a bit.

3 thoughts on “Packing my hospital bag

    1. I have some change packed but forgot to write that down! Need to check when I visit the midwife next week how much the car park is (at the moment I walk to the hospital as it is only 5 mins on foot but not doing that in labour!)

      Like

Comments are closed.