Family days out – Newborough & llanddwyn island

IMG_6072Today I am going to share one of my favorite places with you. Please don’t all rush there at once though, as part of its charm is the tranquility. You know those relaxations where you are asked to imagine yourself lying on a beach, listening to the waves lapping at the shore? well this is where I always imagine I am lying. In fact I am lucky that I have spent an afternoon doing just that here, at least once a year for the past few years. This year I didn’t expect to make it to LLanddwyn island, Anglesey with a new baby (as the walk is not buggy friendly) but we put our baby in her carrier and walked out to our favorite cove at the end of llanddwyn island at the end of August. We spent just 10 short minutes admiring the view in the glorious sunshine but it was worth it.

Llanddwyn island is not a true island. It’s a peninsula attached to the end of Newborough beach & warren, which at high tide gets cut off from the main beach. The island is very picturesque and I always take my big camera. There are beautiful, white, wild ponies roaming the grass land, a couple of lighthouses, a row of pilots’ cottages, a large stone cross and the ruins of a church. There are also numerous pretty coves which are sheltered from any breezes. We’ve spent several happy afternoons over the years, lazing on the sands of one of these coves, occasionally dipping our feet in the beautiful clear waters. It’s the perfect reward for the walk to the end of the island.

IMG_6069 IMG_6070 IMG_6075To get to llanddwyn island you park in the main car park for Newborough beach (accessed by a toll road, currently costing £3) and walk on to Newborough beach. Once on the beach you will see the island on your right (and stunning views of the Llyn peninsula and the Snowdonia national park straight ahead). It’s a good walk to the island across the sands (and the only facilities are at the main car park and don’t forget to check the tide times). From the car park to the end of the island and back is approximately 3.5-4 miles, mostly across the sand. If you don’t fancy the walk to the island, you could easily spend a sunny day on the main beach which is renowned as one of the finest in Britain (according to blue flag awards). Or why not take a walk or cycle through the forest on one of the many clearly marked trails. The car parking facilities have been greatly improved since our last visit. There is a toilet block, picnic tables, barbecue area, refreshment vans (I do not know if they will still be there outside the summer season though so I would pack your own provisions), decked walk ways to the beach and a viewing platform. This really is a beautiful area to explore even though we are now in autumn (who doesn’t love a forest walk in the autumn?).

For details of how to get to the main car park see the Forestry commission website.

newboroughIMG_6060 IMG_6065 IMG_6066 IMG_6067

Country Kids from Coombe Mill Family Farm Holidays Cornwall

10 thoughts on “Family days out – Newborough & llanddwyn island

  1. […] I wrote my first letter to my baby, at 14 weeks old, in August (which reminds me I haven’t published her 6 & 7th month update and she’s just turned 8 months!). I also shared with you a great family day out at The Hepworth gallery in Wakefield. I started sharing ideas for baby play with you in September with a post about my daughters current favorite toys. I posted about one of my absolute favorite places in the UK, Newborough & llanddwyn island. […]

    Like

Comments are closed.