Starting the weaning adventures

Saturday morning we gave our baby her first solids. She is 24 weeks and showing all the signs of readiness for solids. Last week she had started to drop milk feeds and several afternoons she would go 6-7 hours between feeds. I know with breastfeeding it is hard to tell if she is taking less milk or simply making up for the missed feeds at the next one but being a typical first time mum I am a little worried about her milk in take. I am also struggling to feed her anywhere where there is any kind of distraction which is making going out difficult and stressful. If someone so much as coughs whilst she is feeding she pulls off, so no more feeding her in noisy cafes etc. I’ve never her got her to take milk from a bottle either. She pretty much sleeps through most of the time (until 6am and then goes back for an hour or so after a feed) so I haven’t started early to try to get her to sleep better. I know that I am very lucky she is such a good sleeper, especially for a breastfed baby.

I’ve read a few books on weaning including baby led weaning. Although I liked the idea of baby led weaning, I never felt completely sure that I could commit to never feeding her puree on a spoon. Then when I felt she was taking less milk last week I felt sure I wanted to know she was getting some food (by spoon feeding her puree) but I couldn’t give up on the idea of baby led either. A few friends recommended weaning made easy to me and as soon as I started reading it I started to feel much more confident about weaning. The book talks about the pros and cons of both baby led and traditional weaning and then recommends a combination of both types. Having read Gill Rapley’s book, I know that it is not really possible to combine baby led weaning with spoon feeding and call it baby led but this is the way I feel most comfortable starting weaning my baby.

So far she has had 2 days of a few teaspoons of baby rice which she has eagerly eaten. I’ve also made and frozen ice cubes of puree pear, carrot, sweet potato, butternut squash and parsnip to feed her over the next few weeks. I had planned to move on from baby rice to one of these puree today but I gave her a tiny amount of carrot puree yesterday tea and 20 minutes later she brought it back so I think I will go back to rice for a day or two.

I plan to take it relatively slowly over the next few weeks but once she hits 6 months I know that I need to start giving her finger foods, a wider variety of foods and increasing the thickness and texture of puree. I am keen to include lots of finger foods and ideally would like to be more baby led than traditional but to start with I want to know that she is getting some food.

16 thoughts on “Starting the weaning adventures

  1. This is really interesting to read as I am sat here with the Gill Rapley book open next to me. L is now 21 weeks and I do feel her feed times are dropping and she is also easily distracted.

    I am curious to try some purée or baby rice but do love the idea of BLW. I will certainly check out the Weaning Made Easy.

    Jumped over from #magicmoments

    Like

    1. I think it is normal for the length of time for feeds to shorten as babies get more efficient at feeding. I was concerned as some days she will go 6-7 hours in an afternoon between feeds. She is doing well weight wise so I’m sure she is ok but it concerned me a little as she was down to 5 feeds some days.

      My baby fed for first time in weeks in a busy room today with no fuss! So there is hope. Today might have been a one off but one of the other mums said her little boy was the same for a while between 4-5 months and now he is feeding much better and much less distracted.

      Like

  2. Such a brilliant milestone! We went for a baby-led-whatever-works approach and ended up doing some feeding with a spoon and some baby -led…after a few months peanut decided he would only feed himself and is very good at it!

    Like

  3. i think you just need to go with what you feel comfortable with and what is working for you honey. this really is such a massive milestone!

    thanks for linking up with #MagicMoments x

    Like

Comments are closed.